Thursday, August 4, 2011

Dewa 19

Dewa 19

dewa 19

Dewa 19, often referred to as Dewa, is an Indonesian rock band originating from Surabaya, East Java.

Since the band's formation in 1986 there have been a number of changes to the lineup. The current members are: Ahmad Dhani (keyboard), Andra (guitar), Tyo (drums), Yuke (bass guitar), and Once (vocals).

Dewa was first formed in 1986 by four students from a junior high school SMPN 6 in Surabaya. The name Dewa originated as an acronym of the founding members' names: D from Dhani (keyboard, vocals), E from Erwin Prasetya (bass guitar), W from Wawan Juniarso (drums) and A from Andra (guitar). Dewa is also an Indonesian word meaning 'god', or 'deity'. The band was initially based at Wawan's dorm in the Airlangga University complex.

Now, Dewa members have their own side project. Dhani now also playing for The Rock, Andra playing guitar for his own Andra and The BackBone, and also Once develops his career as a solo singer.

0 komentar:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...